My Number 1 Travel Photography Tip

Image: Salvatore Vuono / FreeDigitalPhotos.netI am not a photographer. I don’t claim any special knowledge. In fact, I have a whole collection of uninspiring holiday snaps and headless portraits. On this trip I do hope to do some study (okay, maybe not study, that sounds like alot of work) and improve my photography skills. I recently purchased the Getting out of Auto ebook by the guys over at Bears & Beans and a shiny new-to-me Panasonic Lunix TZ8, so all I need now is something to photograph! Therefore, my number 1 photography tip has nothing to do with aperture, or composition or lighting. It actually has more to do with one of my favourite topics – organisation & administration!

A picture is worth a thousand words and I personally enjoy nothing more than opening up a trip’s photos and going through them by date. It’s almost like being back in the destination again. So, my number 1 travel photography tip is:
Don’t forget to change the time/date settings on your camera to reflect your current location!

Now, maybe everybody else already knows this. Maybe I’m the only idiot with 3 camera’s worth of Japan photos that jump from train station to hotel to a different city and then back to trains again! It was a hard lesson, learned trying to organise 10 days worth of photos that had three different time stamps. Sure, software can do almost anything these days, and I did find something that let me “+8” to all my out-of-sync shots. But to this day there are still a few stubborn misfits littered throughout my slideshows.

Many cameras have travel settings, including my TZ8. A quick glance at the manual revealed some home/destination/world clock features, but I have to be honest and admit I zoned out after about 5 seconds. I’ve also recently discovered the whole camera/gps thing that alot of new models have going on. Sometimes though, the old ways are the best ways and a quick reset on the time menu every time I hit a new time zone is more than advanced enough for me!

Image: Salvatore Vuono / FreeDigitalPhotos.net

Leave a Reply

