My “To Read” List

Image: Phiseksit / FreeDigitalPhotos.netAs part of my continuing quest for “personal growth” I have decided to do some reading while I’m on my travels. After all, they do say that travel broadens the mind! And I’m not talking about reading of the chick-lit or bestselling-thriller-I-bought-in-the-airport variety, but actual “intellectual” books. The kind of books that make it onto “you must read these before you die” lists. The kind of books your English teacher forced on you in school.

David McCandless of Information is Beautiful has compiled the data from multiple “best books” lists and come up with this amazing cloud. You can see the data online too.

Here are the books and my progress (or non-progress) on each.

Edit Sep 15: I have decided to add Swept: Love with a Chance of Drowning by Torre Deroche as my first holiday read, because I have been completely sucked in by the fantastic sample chapter. And because it’s my holiday I can do whatever I want!

Current Status: 13/115 (very, very bad!)

1 To Kill a Mockingbird  
2 1984 – I have always wanted to read this, never got round to it.
3 The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy
4 One Hundred Years of Solitude
5  Catch 22
6 Crime and Punishment
7 Pride and Prejudice – Check. My favourite book. Ever!
8 Anna Karenina
9 The Grapes of Wrath
10 Animal Farm
11 Lolita – Does the movie count?
12 War and Peace
13 Moby Dick
14 The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn
15 Lord of the Rings
16 Lord of the Flies
17 The Stranger
18 Harry Potter – Check. The first one!
19 Brave New World
20 His Dark Materials
21 Don Quixote
22 Les Miserables
23 Jane Eyre – Check.
24 Slaughterhouse Five
25 On the Road
26 Wuthering Heights – Check.
27 Farenheit 451
28 Life of Pi
29 Remembrance of Things Past
30 The Handmaid’s Tale
31 The Time Traveller’s Wife
32 A Clockwork Orange
33 The Kite Runner
34 The Road
35 The Colour Purple
36 The Chronicles of Narnia
37 Tess of D’Ubervilles
38 The Hobbit – Check.
39 David Copperfield
40 A Confederacy of Dunces
41 The Old Man and the Sea
42 Little Women – Check.
43 Beloved
44 Heart of Darkness
45 For Whom the Bell Tolls
46 Gone with the Wind
47 Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland
48 Rebecca
49 Middlemarch – I have tried…oh how I have tried!
50 The Good Earth
51 Ulysse’s
52 Ender’s Game
53 A Prayer for Eoin Meany
54 The Scarlet Letter
55 Dune
56 One Flew Over the Cuckoo’s Nest
57 The Bell Jar
58 The Little Prince
59 The Master and the Margarita
60 The Three Musketeers
61 Love in the Time of Cholera
62 A Tale of Two Cities
63 Memoirs of a Geisha
64 The Sound and the Fury
65 The Leopard
66 Invisible Man
67 The Fountainhead
68 Midnight’s Children
69 Madame Bovary
70 Atonement – Check.
71 Emma – Check.
72 All Quiet on the Western Front
73 Of Mice and Men
74 Anne of Green Gables – Check.
75 The Picture of Dorian Gray
76 The Jungle
77 Lonesome Dove
78 Of Human Bondage
79 East of Eden
80 The Da Vinci Code – Check.
81 Persuasion – Check.
82 Sense and Sensibility – Check.
83 Middlesex
84 Disgrace
85 The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night Time
86 Dracula
87 The Remains of the Day – Check. My second favourite book. And film.
88 Underworld
89 Scoop
90 Winnie the Pooh
91 Watership Down
92 The Name of the Rose
93 A Thousand Splendid Suns
94 Stranger in a Strange Land
95 Frankenstein
96 The Life and Opinions of Tristram Shandy, Gentleman
97 Blood Meridian
98 Crash
99 Vanity Fair
100 The Glass Bead Game
101 Twilight
102 Do Androids Dream of Electric Sheep?
103 Foundation
104 Siddhartha
105 Possession
106 Cold Comfort Farm
107 A Farewell to Arms
108 The Wind in the Willows
109 Atlas Shrugged
110 The Amazing Adventures of Kravalier and Clay
111 Great Expectations
112 The Tin Drum
113 The Brothers Karamazov
114 The Unbearable Lightness of Being
115 Oscar and Lucinda

Image: Phiseksit / FreeDigitalPhotos.net

2 responses

  1. Interesting list, I didn’t do an exact count, but I’ve probably read 20 or so books on the list, many by choice, although some I had to read for school at one point or another. Best of luck in getting through your list.

  2. Thanks Adam. Your blog looks really interesting. I just finished “One Day” last night so time to get started on my list!

Leave a Reply

